New Releases For October 26, 2010

William Orbit
Pieces In A Modern Style Vol. 2

William Orbit - Pieces In A Modern Style Vol. 2

Pieces In A Modern Style, Vol 2 features William Orbit's own spin on works from Vivaldi, Bach, Edward Elgar, and Jean Mouton among others. Orbit's love of classical music is evident. He gives Greig's 'Peer Gynt' a funky disco feel while keeping ambient chill rhythms and on Puccini's 'Babbbino,' from the opera 'Gianni Schicchi,' he delivers a more straightforward arrangement for grand piano and strings. Bellini's 'Sonnambula' gets the expected dreamy, trance-inducing touches, while the first Prelude from Bach's 'Well Tempered Clavier' takes flight with its familiar melody surrounded by sounds that suggests the eerie rustling sound of the wind.

Orbit notes, 'I get immense pleasure from doing these remixes. I love messing around with palettes, sometimes tinkering around with the inversions, sometimes taking the diabolical liberties and sometimes being totally faithful to the original but putting it all through my own aesthetic process.'

Listen Now!


"Nimrod (Elgar)"


  1. 1. Aquarium (Saint-Saens)
  2. 2. Nimrod (Elgar)
  3. 3. Alto Giove (Porpora)
  4. 4. Peer Gynt (Grieg)
  5. 5. Arioso (Bach)
  6. 6. Lark (Vaughan Williams)
  7. 7. Sonnambula (Bellini)
  8. 8. Paradisum (Faure)
  9. 9. Pavane (Faure)
  10. 10. Clavier (Bach)
  11. 11. Babbino (Puccini)
  12. 12. Swan Lake (Tchaikovsky)