New Releases For June 3, 2014

Various Artists
Essential Chicago Blues: Rarities Collection

Various Artists - Essential Chicago Blues: Rarities Collection

These twenty tracks were re-mastered from the original tapes. The songs were recorded by Chess Producer/Engineer, Norman Dayton, in Chicago in the early 60's: live performances, recorded exactly as they were played. Many cuts were recorded during performances in small clubs around Chicago, others in makeshift studios set up in basements or apartments.

Highlights include Dr. Isiah Ross' 'Chicago Breakdown' and 'V-8 Ford Blues' by James Cotton, joined by Paul Butterfield on harp and Elvin Bishop on National Resonator guitar. This disc documents the blues scene of this time and place uncluttered by the production and commercialization brought about soon after by the big record companies. Liner notes written by Bill Dahl.

ARTIST SITE | RELEASED: June 3, 2014 ON Fuel

Listen Now!


"Preachin' Blues - Son House"


  1. 1. Whistling Pines - Big Joe Williams
  2. 2. Minglewood Town - John Lee Granderson
  3. 3. Chicago Breakdown - Dr. Isaiah Ross
  4. 4. I Feel So Worried - Big Joe Williams
  5. 5. V-8 Ford Blues - James Cotton/Elvin Bishop
  6. 6. Cryin' Won't Make Me Stay - Maxwell Street Jimmy
  7. 7. Michigan Water Blues - Little Brother Montgomery
  8. 8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl - John Lee Granderson
  9. 9. Hobo Blues - Dr. Isaiah Ross
  10. 10. Stack O' Dollars - Big Joe Williams
  11. 11. Polly Put The Kettle On - James Cotton
  12. 12. Five Long Years - Eddie Boyd
  13. 13. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl - Dr. Isaiah Ross
  14. 14. Alberta - Maxwell Street Jimmy
  15. 15. I Ain't Got Nobody - Big Joe Williams
  16. 16. Preachin' Blues - Son House
  17. 17. I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down - Rev. Robert Wilkins
  18. 18. Pleadin' Blues - Little Brother Montgomery
  19. 19. Lend Me Your Love - Sunnyland Slim
  20. 20. Two Trains Running - Maxwell Street Jimmy