Soul Releases

Look At My Soul: The Latin Shade Of Texas Soul

Various - Look At My Soul: The Latin Shade Of Texas Soul

Adrian Quesada, a Grammy winner from Laredo, TX, first conceived the idea for this LP over a decade ago while being interviewed with Tejano legend Ruben Ramos. The two casually chatted between takes about Black music and the influence it had on both of their formative years - Ruben's being soul and Adrian's being hip-hop. Adrian is an in-demand producer and music director who is best known for his work with Black Pumas and Brownout. A collector of Latin soul records, Quesada wanted to explore the nexus of the black and brown sounds further to create what he calls a “love letter” to Texas Latin soul. The album plays like the dedication hour of your local radio station, a few cruisin’ classics mixed with funky numbers and hip-shakers.

Listen Now!


"I've Got Soul (David Marez)"


  1. SIDE A:
  2. 1. Ain't No Big Thing (Johnny Hernandez)
  3. 2. One Woman Man (Aaron Frazer And David Hidalgo)
  4. 3. Love Reverberation (Jonny Benavidez)
  5. 4. Boogaloo En Monterrey (Ruben Ramos, Charlie Sexton)
  6. 5. Joey (Paul Shalda)
  7. 6. Funky Chick (Brownout And Tomar Williams) *
  8. SIDE B:
  9. 1. Look At My Soul (The Black Pumas Featuring Kam Franklin)
  10. 2. I Wanna Be Free (Tomar Williams And Steve Berlin)
  11. 3. I've Got Soul (David Marez)
  12. 4. Just You And Me (Amalia Mondragon)
  13. 5. Cumbia Luna Negra (Grupo Fantasma Featuring Tomar Williams)
  14. 6. Devil In Disguise (Jonny Benavidez) *
  15. *CD Bonus Track