Concord Releases

Valerie June
Pushin' Against A Stone

Valerie June - Pushin' Against A Stone

Valerie June's debut album brings together the talents of acclaimed producers Kevin Augunas (Edward Sharpe, Florence + The Machine), Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys, and Peter Sabak, along with an all-star cast of musicians ranging from Booker T. and Jimbo Mathis to some of Hungary's top session players. It was recorded in Nashville, Van Nuys, CA, and Budapest.

June, whose voice percolates somewhere between Dolly Parton and Billie Holiday, wrote or co-wrote all but one of the record's 11 tracks, blending rural roots, country, rock, and blues into an astonishing and singular sound that bridges Alan Lomax and Jack White.

Listen Now!


"Workin' Woman Blues"


  1. 1. Workin' Woman Blues
  2. 2. Somebody To Love
  3. 3. The Hour
  4. 4. Twined & Twisted
  5. 5. Wanna Be On Your Mind
  6. 6. Tennessee Time
  7. 7. Pushin' Against A Stone
  8. 8. Trials, Troubles, Tribulations
  9. 9. You Can't Be Told
  10. 10. Shotgun
  11. 11. On My Way

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Aug 13
    LaFayette, NY, US The Wood Brothers with Valerie June at Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards
  • Sep 09
    Vienna, VA, US Lake Street Dive with Valerie June at Wolf Trap
  • Sep 10
    Boston, MA, US Valerie June at Wilbur Theatre
  • Sep 11
    Glenside, PA, US Valerie June at Keswick Theatre
  • Oct 02
    Denver, CO, US The California Honeydrops with Valerie June at Mission Ballroom
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist