New Releases For September 28, 2010

Tony Joe White
The Shine

Tony Joe White - The Shine

One of the most distinctive and respected songwriters of the Deep South, Tony Joe White, gets raw and real on his new record The Shine.

The album is a stripped-down collection of ten new White-penned songs that beautifully lays bare his rich, nuanced baritone, and distinctive brand of swampy southern soul.

While White's last record, the critically acclaimed Uncovered, featured a slew of special guests including Eric Clapton, Mark Knopfler, Michael McDonald and J.J. Cale, The Shine is all about White. From the first whispery notes of 'Season Man,' in which he recounts an ominous dream, to the record's closing track 'A Place to Watch the Sun Go Down,' The Shine is an album of understated beauty and beguiling mystery.

Listen Now!


"Season Man"


  1. 1. Season Man
  2. 2. Ain't Doing Nobody No Good
  3. 3. Paintings on the Mountain
  4. 4. Tell Me Why
  5. 5. All
  6. 6. Long Way from the River
  7. 7. Strange Night
  8. 8. Something to Soften the Blow
  9. 9. Roll Train Roll
  10. 10. A Place to Watch the Sun Go Down

More By This Artist