New Releases For April 6, 2010

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
I Learned the Hard Way

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings - I Learned the Hard Way

Produced by Bosco Mann and recorded on an Ampex eight-track tape machine by Gabriel Roth in Daptone Records' House of Soul studios, the record drips with a warmth and spontaneity rarely found since the golden days of Muscle Shoals and Stax. Sharon's raw power, rhythmic swagger, moaning soulfulness, and melodic command set her firmly alongside Tina Turner, James Brown, Mavis Staples, and Aretha as a fixture in the canon of soul music.

From the lush Philly-Soul fanfare that ushers in 'The Game Gets Old' at the top of the record, to the stripped down Sam Cooke-style 'Mama Don't Like My Man' at the tail, the Dap-Kings dance seamlessly through both the most crafted and simple arrangements with subtlety and discipline.

TAGS: Neo Soul | R&B | Soul

Listen Now!


"I Learned The Hard Way"


  1. 1. The Game Gets Old
  2. 2. I Learned The Hard Way
  3. 3. Better Things
  4. 4. Give It Back
  5. 5. Money
  6. 6. The Reason
  7. 7. Window Shopping
  8. 8. She Ain't A Child No More
  9. 9. I'll Still Be True
  10. 10. Without A Heart
  11. 11. If You Call
  12. 12. Mama Don't Like My Man

More By This Artist