New Releases For January 26, 2010

Michael Janisch
Purpose Built

Michael Janisch - Purpose Built

The debut solo album from dynamic jazz bassist Michael Janisch features an all-star cast of new generation jazz musicians.

The music mixes contemporary sounds of latin, fusion, drum and bass, with the soulful elements of jazz's rich history, including a thrilling duet between Janisch and Grammy Award nominated drummer, Johnathan Blake, on John Coltrane's 'Moment's Notice.'

According to Jazz Journal Magazine, 'Purpose Built seamlessly marries the highest virtues of jazz - intricate yet purposeful rhythm, colorful harmonic language, compelling melody and high-level improvisation together with those often underused qualities of light and shade... a perfect blend of tradition and modernity.'


  1. Precisely Now
  2. Adelante
  3. Love is a Many Splendored Thing
  4. Shumshi
  5. Milestones
  6. Serenade of the Seas
  7. Pukl-n-Pappo
  8. Sofa Stomp
  9. Lost Creek
  10. Blood Count
  11. Beep
  12. Moment's Notice