Instrumental Releases

Jon Hassell
Listening To Pictures (Pentimento Volume One)

Jon Hassell - Listening To Pictures (Pentimento Volume One)

Listening To Pictures (Pentimento Volume One) is the first new album in nine years by musical visionary and hugely influential figure Jon Hassell. Continuing his lifelong exploration of the possibilities of the studio, fragments of performance are sampled, looped, overdubbed and re-arranged into beguiling unexpected shapes. Hassell applies the painterly technique of “pentimento” to the arrangements, teasing out texture by the careful overlaying of sound, or a carefully timed reveal of the delicate bones pinning the frame of a track together. Smeared, gauzy, gorgeous atmospherics to perfectly soundtrack a vertical listening experience.

ARTIST SITE | RELEASED: June 8, 2018 ON Ndeya

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Dreaming
  2. 2. Picnic
  3. 3. Slipstream
  4. 4. Al Kongo Udu
  5. 5. Pastorale Vassant
  6. 6. Manga Scene
  7. 7. Her First Rain
  8. 8. Ndeya