New Releases For May 24, 2011

Jimbo Mathus
Confederate Buddha

Jimbo Mathus - Confederate Buddha

Having been part of the Squirrel Nut Zippers, the South Memphis String Band and putting Buddy Guy's musical house in order, Mississippi's own Jimbo Mathus is back with Confederate Buddha. It's an eclectic amalgam of Southern blues, white country, soul and rock-n-roll. The idea behind the album reflects Jimbo's interest in regional folklore and art forms: 'I was finding these weird country people - oracles, rural sages who are so wise and of the past projecting an image of both peace and rebellion.' It's the first album he's written and recorded with a specific band in mind with a sound that's coherent, rock solid and down-home all at once.

TAGS: Americana | Blues

Listen Now!


"Cling To The Roots"


  1. 1. Jimmy The Kid
  2. 2. Cling To The Roots
  3. 3. Wheel Upon Wheel
  4. 4. Town With No Shame
  5. 5. Leash My Pony
  6. 6. Walks Beside
  7. 7. Glad It's Dark
  8. 8. Aces & Eights
  9. 9. Too Much Water
  10. 10. Kine Joe
  11. 11. Shady Dealing
  12. 12. Days of High Cotton

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Sep 24
    Franklin, TN, US Pilgrimage Music and Cultural Festival 2021
  • Oct 07
    Athens, GA, US Jimbo Mathus with Sam Doores at The Lewis Room
  • Oct 09
    Chattanooga, TN, US Jimbo Mathus at Cherry Street Tavern
  • Nov 11
    Jackson, MS, US Jimbo Mathus at Duling Hall
Powered by Songkick