Downtown Releases

A Quiet Darkness

Houses - A Quiet Darkness

After moving to LA and signing with Downtown Records, Houses (Dexter Tortoriello and Megan Messina) have written their sophomore album A Quiet Darkness. Recorded in 2012 splitting time between their LA home and Sonic Ranch, the ethereal sound on which Houses was built is woven through A Quiet Darkness and shows a deep, pensive side to a band who encompass a darker side of bliss; a bold new bravado that resonates with anyone who has ever experienced love and loss.

'Houses splits the difference between ambient isolation and anthemic, can't-scream-it-loud-enough love' - RCRD LBL

On tour now with Cold War Kids. Summer tour with Baths.

Listen Now!


"The Beauty Surrounds"


  1. 1. Beginnings
  2. 2. The Beauty Surrounds
  3. 3. Big Light
  4. 4. The Tired Moon
  5. 5. Peasants
  6. 6. Carrion
  7. 7. What We Lost
  8. 8. Smoke Signals
  9. 9. Tenderly
  10. 10. The Bloom
  11. 11. A Quiet Darkness