Instrumental Releases

Herlin Riley
Perpetual Optimism

Herlin Riley - Perpetual Optimism

“I want to live in a world where my glass is always half full!” That’s the inspiring maxim of New Orleans master drummer Herlin Riley. On his second Mack Avenue Records release, Perpetual Optimism, the longtime anchor of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra preaches his silver-lined gospel on 10 tracks whose joyous spirit and contagious swing are sure to convert any listener to the bright side. Since his Mack Avenue debut New Direction, all four of Riley’s bandmates have been making major waves across the modern jazz scene, attesting to the master drummer’s Art Blakey-like ear for talent and sage musical guidance.

Listen Now!


"Rush Hour"


  1. 1. Rush Hour
  2. 2. Be There When I Get There
  3. 3. Borders Without Lines
  4. 4. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  5. 5. Perpetual Optimism
  6. 6. Touched
  7. 7. Wings And Roots
  8. 8. Wang Dang Doodle
  9. 9. Stella By Starlight
  10. 10. Twelve’s It

More By This Artist