Concord Releases

Harvey Mason

Harvey Mason - Chameleon

The lead composition, 'Chameleon,' from Herbie Hancock's 1973 landmark Head Hunters serves, in part, as the signifying reference for Harvey Mason's new CD. Not only did Mason provide the rhythmic spank for the jazz-funk staple, he co-wrote it with Hancock along with several other bandmates - Paul Jackson and reedist Bennie Maupin.

Chameleon features some of the brightest young jazz talents on the scene today: NEXT Collective alumni such as trumpeter Christian Scott, bassist Ben Williams, pianist/keyboardist Kris Bowers, guitarist Matthew Stevens, trombonist/vocalist Corey 'CK' King, saxophonist Kamasi Washington, vocalist Chris Turner, and keyboardist/electronica producer, Mark de Clive-Lowe.

Listen Now!


"If I Ever Lose This Heaven (Featuring Chris Turner)"


  1. 1. Black Frost (Featuring Kamasi Washington)
  2. 2. Montara
  3. 3. If I Ever Lose This Heaven (Featuring Chris Turner)
  4. 4. Looking Back
  5. 5. Before The Dawn
  6. 6. Studio Life (Hold It One Second)
  7. 7. Places And Spaces (Featuring Christian Scott and Corey 'CK' King)
  8. 8. Either Way
  9. 9. Mase's Theme
  10. 10. Chameleon