Warp Releases

Caliph's Tea Party

Gonjasufi - Caliph's Tea Party

'With its slow grooves and gunked-up tones, it's funky in two ways.' - New York Times

It's a tricky thing, re-working a completely unique and peerless piece of music. It is made even trickier when the personality behind the original music is so vivid and otherworldly that it is almost sure to continue to cast its long shadow over whatever new form is chosen for it. Of course, the questions of whether or not to remix Gonjasufi's instant classic A Sufi & A Killer arose, but with that voice and those songs, it was never going to fail.

It didn't hurt that Gonja had made fans out of quite a few incredibly talented artists either. From hugely respected new-comers Oneohtrix Point Never and Bear in Heaven to Warp stalwarts Mark Pritchard and Broadcast, it's certainly a testament to this emerging artist's extraordinary talent that he was able to coral such a diverse and creative group of remixers.

Listen Now!


"Ancestors ((Dreamtime) Mark Pritchard Rmx)"


  1. 1. Ancestors ((Dreamtime) Mark Pritchard Rmx)
  2. 2. Candylane (Bibio Remix)
  3. 3. Ageing (Dam Mantle Remix)
  4. 4. The Caliph's Tea Party (Broadcast & The Focus Group 'DedNd' Remix)
  5. 5. Kobwebz (Jeremiah Jae Remix)
  6. 6. Love Of Reign (Bear In Heaven Remix)
  7. 7. She's Gone (Oneohtrix Point Never Remix)
  8. 8. Holidays (MRR Remix)
  9. 9. Change (Shlomo Remix)
  10. 10. My Only Friend (Hezus Remix)
  11. 11. DedNd (agdm Remix)
  12. 12. SuzieQ (Dem Hunger Bowel Blood Remix)

More By This Artist