New Releases For March 20, 2012

Esperanza Spalding
Radio Music Society

Esperanza Spalding - Radio Music Society

It has not taken Esperanza Spalding long to emerge as one of the brightest lights in the musical world. Listeners familiar with her stunning 2008 debut, Esperanza, and her best-selling 2010 release Chamber Music Society, were well aware that the young bassist, vocalist, and composer from Portland, Oregon was the real deal. She has a unique and style-spanning presence, deeply rooted in jazz yet destined to make her mark far beyond the jazz realm. That judgment was confirmed on February 13, 2011, when Spalding became the first jazz musician to receive the GRAMMY Award for Best New Artist.

Radio Music Society is her most diverse, ambitious, and masterful recital yet.

Virtually all of the songs are accompanied by conceptual music videos, which further express Esperanza's inspiration and story behind each track. Shot in various locations including New York City; Barcelona, Spain; and Portland, Oregon; all videos are available to purchasers of Radio Music Society on both the Standard (CD + download card for video access) and Deluxe (CD + DVD with video content) configurations.

Listen Now!


"Black Gold (Featuring Algebra Blessett & Lionel Loueke)"


  1. 1. Radio Song
  2. 2. Cinnamon Tree
  3. 3. Crowned & Kissed
  4. 4. Land Of The Free
  5. 5. Black Gold (Featuring Algebra Blessett & Lionel Loueke)
  6. 6. I Can't Help It (Featuring Joe Lovano)
  7. 7. Hold On Me
  8. 8. Vague Suspicions
  9. 9. Endangered Species (Featuring Lalah Hathaway)
  10. 10. Let Her
  11. 11. City Of Roses
  12. 12. Smile Like That

More By This Artist