Concord Releases

Elvis Costello
Hey Clockface

Elvis Costello - Hey Clockface

After traveling alone to the Finnish capital on February 16th, 2020, Costello worked for three days at Suomenlinnan Studio, a recording facility a twenty-minute ferry ride from downtown Helsinki. Asked about the choice of recording location, Costello, explained, "I wanted to go somewhere nobody knew me. So, this is ‘The Helsinki Sound.’"  The resulting track was "No Flag," Costello says, “I sang live on the studio floor, directing from the vocal booth. We cut nine songs in two days. We spoke very little. Almost everything the musicians played was a spontaneous response to the song I was singing. I’d had a dream of recording in Paris like this, one day.”

Listen Now!


"No Flag"


  1. 1. Revolution #49
  2. 2. No Flag
  3. 3. They’re Not Laughing At Me Now
  4. 4. Newspaper Pane
  5. 5. I Do (Zula’s Song)
  6. 6. We Are All Cowards Now
  7. 7. Hey Clockface / How Can You Face Me?
  8. 8. The Whirlwind
  9. 9. Hetty O’Hara Confidential
  10. 10. The Last Confession Of Vivian Whip
  11. 11. What Is It That I Need That I Don’t Already Have?
  12. 12. Radio Is Everything
  13. 13. I Can’t Say Her Name
  14. 14. Byline

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Oct 20
    Charlotte, NC, US Elvis Costello at Belk Theater, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center
  • Nov 04
    Prior Lake, MN, US Elvis Costello and Elvis Costello & The Imposters at Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
  • Nov 13
    Inglewood, CA, US Elvis Costello & The Imposters and Elvis Costello at YouTube Theater
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist