Funk Releases

Dr. Lonnie Smith
In The Beginning Volumes 1 & 2

Dr. Lonnie Smith - In The Beginning Volumes 1 & 2

On In The Beginning, the second release on Pilgrimage Recording, his imprint label which he founded in 2012, Dr. Lonnie Smith revisits, recontextualizes, and reimagines a dozen songs culled from his first decade as a recording artist. The end product is a document as distinctive and accomplished as any within Smith's iconic canon.

Co-produced by Ian Hendrickson-Smith (Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings, Amy Winehouse, Reverend Al Green), his arrangements are performed by a first call New York octet which capture the intense, creative spirit that animated the latter 60's milieu generating Smith's recordings like 'Finger Lickin' Good,' 'Think,' 'Turning Point' and 'Move Your Hand.'

TAGS: Funk | Jazz

Listen Now!


"Move Your Hand"


  1. DISC ONE:
  2. 1. Falling In Love
  3. 2. Aw Shucks
  4. 3. Move Your Hand
  5. 4. Turning Point
  6. 5. In The Beginning
  7. 6. Mama Wailer/Hola Muneca Medley

  8. DISC TWO:
  9. 7. Keep Talkin'
  10. 8. Psychedelic Pi
  11. 9. Slow High
  12. 10. Call Of The Wild
  13. 11. Slouchin'
  14. 12. Track Nine

More By This Artist

  • Dr. Lonnie Smith Spiral (Palmetto)