Funk Releases

Dennis Coffey
Dennis Coffey

Dennis Coffey - Dennis Coffey

For 2011, Dennis Coffey's new self-titled album is a revelation, a dense, fuzz-heavy haze of incendiary psychedelic soul. Much of the set recalls the sentiments of earlier solo work such as his seminal, trippy Hair 'N' Thangs album. For these sessions, in addition to a host of new compositions, Coffey personally cherry-picks tracks upon which he first appeared and enlists an illustrious guest list for all-new interpretations. Stones Throw's new soul hero Mayer Hawthorne takes up The Parliaments' poignant mid-tempo swayer 'All Your Goodies Are Gone,' Fanny Franklin from killer Hollywood funk combo Orgone voices a new version of Wilson Pickett's psych-soul jam 'Don't Knock My Love' and Lisa Kekaula from California garage-soul band the Bellrays takes on the 100 Proof Aged In Soul stomper 'Somebody's Been Sleeping.'

The Detroit connection looms large throughout the set - Mick Collins from the Dirtbombs alongside Detroit Cobras' Rachel Nagy unleash a dark, brooding take on Funkadelic's 'I Bet You.'. UK chart sensation Paolo Nutini contributes a passionate version of Rodriguez' 'Only Good For Conversation.' Completing the list of collaborations, Milwaukee funk sensations Kings Go Forth (Luaka Bop) mould an intense funk jam around some heavy Coffey licks on 'Miss Millie.'

TAGS: Funk

Listen Now!


"All Your Goodies Are Gone (Featuring Mayer Hawthorne)"


  1. 1. 7th Galaxy
  2. 2. Don't Knock My Love (Featuring Fanny Franklin)
  3. 3. All Your Goodies Are Gone (Featuring Mayer Hawthorne)
  4. 4. I Bet You (Featuring Mick Collins Of Dirtbombs And Rachel Nagy)
  5. 5. Miss Millie (Featuring Kings Go Forth)
  6. 6. Somebody's Been Sleeping (Featuring Lisa Kekaula)
  7. 7. Plutonius
  8. 8. Knockabout
  9. 9. Only Good For Conversation (Featuring Paolo Nutini)
  10. 10. Space Traveller
  11. 11. Don't Knock My Love (Part 2)

More By This Artist