Blue Note Releases

Art Blakey
Free For All (Vinyl Reissue)

Art Blakey - Free For All (Vinyl Reissue)

Free For All is a 1964 jazz album by Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers released on Blue Note. Celebrating its 50th anniversary, the album will be released on vinyl as part of the overall Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl campaign.

Blakey, the Jazz Messenger's leader and drummer, recorded Free For All with Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, recent Grammy-winner Wayne Shorter on tenor sax, Curtis Fuller on trombone, Cedar Walton on piano and Reggie Workman on bass. Free For All features 'Free For All' and 'Hammer Head' both by Wayne Shorter as well as 'The Core' by Freddie Hubbard and 'Pensativa' by Clare Fischer.


  1. SIDE A:
  2. 1. Free For All
  3. 2. Hammer Head

  4. SIDE B:
  5. 3. The Core
  6. 4. Pensativa