Concord Releases

Al Jarreau
My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke

Al Jarreau - My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke

Al Jarreau and George Duke were friends long before they became household names. They began playing together in the mid-60s as Al Jarreau and the George Duke Trio. The successes of these performances are what helped to launch both their careers. George's tragic passing in 2013 inspired Al to record this loving tribute to his longtime friend.

With the exception of the fitting title track composed by Jarreau, all the tunes were written by George. Guest artists/collaborators include Gerald Albright, Stanley Clarke, Dr. John, Lalah Hathaway, Boney James, Marcus Miller, Jeffrey Osborne, Kelly Price, Dianne Reeves, Patrice Rushen, and even George Duke.

TAGS: Jazz | Jazz Vocals

Listen Now!


"Summer Breezin'"


  1. 1. My Old Friend
  2. 2. Someday (Featuring Dianne Reeves)
  3. 3. Backyard Ritual
  4. 4. Summer Breezin'
  5. 5. Sweet Baby (Featuring Lalah Hathaway)
  6. 6. Every Reason To Smile (Featuring Jeffrey Osborne)
  7. 7. No Rhyme No Reason (Featuring Kelly Price)
  8. 8. You Bring Me Joy (Featuring George Duke And Boney James)
  9. 9. Brazilian Love Affair (Featuring Dianne Reeves)
  10. 10. You Touched My Brain (Featuring Dr. John)

More By This Artist