New Releases For March 8, 2011

Wye Oak

Wye Oak - Civilian

Civilian is a kind of 21st-century folk music, imbued with dense shoegaze guitars, nearly melodic rhythms, and impeccable splashes of electronic color. Without leaning on conventional structure, the songs beguile with fascinating chords and melodies, Jenn's voice and riveting lyrics, mesmerizing rhythms, and an intoxicating aural landscape. Just as good writing has meaning between the lines, Civilian has meaning between the sounds: the combinations of harmonies, timbres, and words summon vivid and ineffable associations just beyond reach.

TAGS: Folk | Indie Rock

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Two Small Deaths
  2. 2. The Alter
  3. 3. Holy Holy
  4. 4. Dogs Eyes
  5. 5. Civilian
  6. 6. Fish
  7. 7. Plains
  8. 8. Hot As Day
  9. 9. We Were Wealth
  10. 10. Doubt