New Releases For June 21, 2011

Turbid North

Turbid North - Orogeny

Orogeny displays the band self-proclaimed Alaskan mountain metal style retaining the galloping thrash of early 80's period of bands like Metallica and Kreator, the technical and abrasive shredding of modern death metal and even moments of bluesy and flowing solos reminiscent of Randy Rhoades period Ozzy.

The album took an unsuspecting metal underground by storm including staunch critics like Decibel magazine who said 'All the ingredients for a full on metallic smackdown are present' and Metal Sucks who proclaimed 'They kick all kinds of ass.'

Orogeny is a themed album, 'I was reading a book of Alaskan survival stories and one of the stories struck me as an inspiration,' says guitarist Nick Forkel. 'It was the story of this hunter who was trapped in the wilderness at the height of winter and things got worse and worse for him. His will to survive and his hunter's instinct helped him to overcome this hell and the album follows that. It's about overcoming the odds no matter how grim and the survival instinct we all have.'

TAGS: Hard Rock | Metal

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Wolves
  2. 2. Rift
  3. 3. Bereavement
  4. 4. The Hunter
  5. 5. Stormblast
  6. 6. Between The Glacier And The Sea
  7. 7. Kodiak Pt. 1
  8. 8. Kodiak Pt. 2
  9. 9. Orogeny
  10. 10. Floating The Ionosphere