Gospel Releases

Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Every Time I Feel The Spirit

Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Every Time I Feel The Spirit

With her rip-roaring gospel testifying, a slashing, aggressive lead guitar technique that proved influential to up-and-coming axemen on both sides of the stylistic fence; an audacious, bigger-than-life stage persona; and a willingness to buck church tradition as far as briefly crossing over to singing secular material with Lucky Millinder’s orchestra during the early 1940s and again more than a decade later, Sister Rosetta was a true pioneer on numerous levels. The impact of Sister Rosetta Tharpe on the development of both gospel and primordial rock and roll is incalculable. Her visionary approach resonates throughout this compilation of mostly unissued live recordings on CD for the very first time.


  1. DISC ONE:
  2. 1. Rock Daniel
  3. 2. Down By The Riverside
  4. 3. I Want A Tall Skinny Papa
  5. 4. This Train
  6. 5. Sin Is To Blame
  7. 6. That’s All
  8. 7. Didn’t It Rain
  9. 8. Every Time I Feel The Spirit
  10. 9. I Saw The Light
  11. 10. He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands
  12. 11. Up Above My Head, I Hear Music In The Air
  13. 12. This Train
  14. 13. Down By The Riverside
  15. 14. Jesus Is Everywhere
  16. 15. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
  17. 16. Two Little Fishes And Five Loaves Of Bread
  18. DISC TWO:
  19. 1. Jonah
  20. 2. Is Everyone Happy?
  21. 3. Sit Down
  22. 4. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
  23. 5. Mansions In The Sky
  24. 6. Travelin’ Shoes
  25. 7. That’s All
  26. 8. When Jesus Was Born
  27. 9. Go Tell It To The Mountain
  28. 10. Precious Moments
  29. 11. Go Ahead
  30. 12. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  31. 13. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  32. 14. Take My Hand, Precious Lord #2
  33. 15. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
  34. 16. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child