New Releases For July 5, 2011

Sam Baker's Album

Samiyam - Sam Baker's Album

Coming out with one of the most anticipated and long-awaited albums so far on Brainfeeder is Samiyam aka Sam Baker. Sam Baker's Album is 40 minutes of pure listening pleasure, a series of woozy, off-centre hip hop instrumentals drawing heavily on Baker's love of electronic funk but never in hock to it. Intensely detailed and carrying considerable emotional weight, this is not Rap Beats Volume 2 but an album of fully-realized pieces of music which stand on their own without the need for an MC's intervention.

Ann Arbor native Sam Baker moved to Los Angeles in 2006. In his short time out west, he has become one of the city's most progressive and recognized producers. Baker's Rap Beats Vol.1 collection was the very first release on Brainfeeder. He has also collaborated with old friend Flying Lotus as Flyamsam as well as having releases on Hyperdub and Poo-Bah records.

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Escape
  2. 2. Bedtime
  3. 3. Pressure
  4. 4. Bricks
  5. 5. Already
  6. 6. Frosting Packets
  7. 7. Kitties
  8. 8. Where Am I
  9. 9. Cushion
  10. 10. Turtles
  11. 11. My Buddy
  12. 12. No Dinner
  13. 13. Understanding
  14. 14. Wonton Special
  15. 15. Taco Delay
  16. 16. Lifesized Stuffed Animal
  17. 17. Sometimes