Instrumental Releases

Rafiq Bhatia
Breaking English

Rafiq Bhatia - Breaking English

New York guitarist and producer Rafiq Bhatia shatters preconceptions about how much can be said without a word. In fact, these 32 minutes of instrumental grandeur represent the arrival of an audacious new voice, one of music’s great new perform¬er-producers. In 2012, he joined Son Lux, a project in which producer Ryan Lott used software to warp found sounds into dazzling electronic experiments. Son Lux afforded Bhatia the chance to record with the likes of Lorde and Sufjan Stevens and it gave him the support to rethink his approach to creating music - the process that ultimately yielded Breaking English.

Listen Now!


"Breaking English"


  1. 1. Olduvai I - Minarets
  2. 2. Hoods Up
  3. 3. Olduvai II - We Are Humans, With Blood In Our Veins
  4. 4. Before Our Eyes
  5. 5. The Overview Effect
  6. 6. Breaking English
  7. 7. Perihelion I - I Tried To Scream
  8. 8. Perihelion II - Into The Sun
  9. 9. A Love That's True

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Feb 18
    Brooklyn, NY, US AROOJ AFTAB, Rafiq Bhatia, and Anjna Swaminathan at Threes Brewing
  • Mar 01
    Boston, MA, US Rafiq Bhatia at Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
  • Mar 06
    Philadelphia, PA, US Rafiq Bhatia with Square Peg Round Hole at Johnny Brenda's
  • Mar 07
    Pittsburgh, PA, US Rafiq Bhatia with W/LLS at Andy Warhol Museum
  • Mar 08
    Oberlin, OH, US Rafiq Bhatia with W/LLS at The Sco, Oberlin College
  • Mar 09
    Toledo, OH, US Rafiq Bhatia with W/LLS at Peristyle Theatre at the Toledo Museum of Art
  • Mar 10
    Indianapolis, IN, US Rafiq Bhatia with Ian Chang and W/LLS at Newfields: A Place For Nature & The Arts
  • Mar 15
    New York, NY, US Rafiq Bhatia with W/LLS at The Kitchen
  • Mar 21
    Knoxville, TN, US Big Ears Festival 2019
  • Mar 30
    Asheville, NC, US AROOJ AFTAB, Rafiq Bhatia, and Anjna Swaminathan at Black Mountain College Museum + Arts Center
Powered by Songkick