New Releases For January 26, 2010

Magnetic Fields

Magnetic Fields - Realism

With no synths, no drum kits, and every instrument unplugged, the pristine Realism is the flip-side to the brash noise-pop of The Magnetic Fields' 2008 Distortion.

Singer-songwriter Stephin Merritt calls it 'folk,' but with its wide range of instrumentation and orchestrated arrangements, says Merritt, Realism is a more kaleidoscopic approach to a genre.'


  1. You Must Be Out of Your Mind
  2. Interlude
  3. We Are Having a Hootenanny
  4. I Don't Know What to Say
  5. The Doll's Tea Party
  6. Everything Is One Big Christmas Tree
  7. Walk A Lonely Road
  8. Always Already Gone
  9. Seduced and Abandoned
  10. Better Things
  11. Painted Flower
  12. The Dada Polka
  13. From A Sinking Boat