Traditional Jazz Releases

Kenny Garrett
Seeds From The Underground

Kenny Garrett - Seeds From The Underground

With Seeds From The Underground, Garrett has crafted a project that offers his appreciation while always making the listener aware of his band's skillful approach to melody, harmony and rhythm.

From personal nods such as the opening track 'Boogety Boogety,' dedicated to his memory of watching western films with his father (the title refers to the sound of a galloping horse); 'Wiggins,' which references his high school band director Bill Wiggins; and 'Detroit,' an evocative, reflective composition about his hometown, and a celebration of mentor Marcus Belgrave; to his appreciation of some of his musical heroes on 'J Mac' (Jackie McLean); 'Haynes Here' (Roy Haynes); and 'Do Wo Mo' (Duke Ellington, Woody Shaw and Thelonious Monk).

Listen Now!


"Boogety Boogety"


  1. 1. Boogety Boogety
  2. 2. J. Mac
  3. 3. Wiggins
  4. 4. Haynes Here
  5. 5. Detroit
  6. 6. Seeds From The Underground
  7. 7. Du-Wo-Mo
  8. 8. Welcome Earth Song
  9. 9. Ballad Jarrett
  10. 10. Laviso, I Bon?

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Apr 05
    Los Angeles (LA), CA, US Wayne Shorter Quartet and Ambrose Akinmusire with Terence Blanchard, Kenny Garrett, and 1 more… at Walt Disney Concert Hall
  • Jul 02
    Kongsberg, Norway Kenny Garrett at Energimølla
  • Jul 02
    Kongsberg, Norway Kenny Garrett at Energimølla
  • Jul 26
    Krakow, Poland Summer Jazz Festival: Kenny Garrett Quintet 2020
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist