New Releases For September 17, 2013

Kenny Garrett
Pushing The World Away

Kenny Garrett - Pushing The World Away

For his third Mack Avenue Records release, Pushing the World Away, alto/soprano saxophonist, composer/bandleader Kenny Garrett literally had to 'push away' a steady flow of distractions to get to the inner core of the album, shifting priorities in his schedule and diving deep into the essence of the music.

While not directly paying homage to Mulgrew Miller, Garrett does pay tribute to a number of other friends and heroes - Chick Corea, Chucho Valdés, Sonny Rollins, Donald Brown - on Pushing the World Away, which connects the album to Garrett's 2012 critically acclaimed gem, Seeds From The Underground.

TAGS: Jazz

Listen Now!


"Chucho's Mambo"


  1. 1. A Side Order Of Hijiki
  2. 2. Hey, Chick
  3. 3. Chucho's Mambo
  4. 4. Lincoln Center
  5. 5. J'ouvert (Homage To Sonny Rollins)
  6. 6. That's It
  7. 7. I Say A Little Prayer
  8. 8. Pushing The World Away
  9. 9. Homma San
  10. 10. Brother Brown
  11. 11. Alpha Man
  12. 12. Rotation

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • May 25
    Buffalo, NY, US Kenny Garrett at Tralf
  • May 25
    Buffalo, NY, US Kenny Garrett at Tralf
  • Jul 25
    Marseille, France Omara Portuondo with Kenny Garrett, Chucho Valdes, and Yilian Canizares at Palais Longchamp
  • Aug 30
    Detroit, MI, US Detroit Jazz Festival 2019
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist