Jazz Releases

Julian Lage
Modern Lore

Julian Lage - Modern Lore

Modern Lore finds Lage playfully flipping the script he followed on his acclaimed 2016 Mack Avenue debut, Arclight. That album — produced, like Modern Lore, by Lage’s friend and collaborator, the singer-songwriter Jesse Harris — was his first trio set on electric guitar and found Lage inspired by the sounds and the attitude of the freewheeling, pre-bebop jazz era, when, as he puts it, “country music and jazz and swing were in this weird wild-west period.” This time he incorporates the sensibility of early rock and roll, a similarly hybrid form driven by rhythm, personality and a passion for the electric guitar.

Listen Now!


"Rodger The Dodger"


  1. 1. The Ramble
  2. 2. Atlantic Limited
  3. 3. General Thunder
  4. 4. Rodger The Dodger
  5. 5. Wordsmith
  6. 6. Splendor Riot
  7. 7. Revelry
  8. 8. Look Book
  9. 9. Whatever You Say, Henry
  10. 10. Earth Science
  11. 11. Pantheon

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Aug 20
    New York, NY, US Julian Lage and The Nels Cline Four at Le Poisson Rouge
  • Aug 21
    New York, NY, US Kris Davis with Julian Lage at Jazz Gallery
  • Aug 22
    New York, NY, US Kris Davis with Julian Lage at Jazz Gallery
  • Sep 12
    Newark, OH, US Julian Lage at Thirty One West Ballroom
  • Sep 13
    Toronto, ON, Canada Julian Lage at The Mod Club
  • Sep 13
    Toronto, ON, Canada Julian Lage Trio and Julian Lage at Virgin Mobile Mod Club
  • Sep 15
    Montreal, QC, Canada Julian Lage at L'Astral
  • Sep 17
    Portland, ME, US Julian Lage at Port City Music Hall
  • Sep 18
    Cambridge, MA, US Julian Lage at The Sinclair
  • Oct 05
    Healdsburg, CA, US Julian Lage at Raven Performing Arts Theater
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist