New Releases For September 25, 2015

John Scofield
Past Present

John Scofield - Past Present

John Scofield updates his early-’90s quartet with drummer Bill Stewart and saxophonist Joe Lovano by recruiting bassist Larry Grenadier for his fetching, appropriately titled Impulse! debut, Past Present. The nine exciting tunes Scofield penned on Past Present also reflects his philosophy on playing jazz music. He stresses the importance of being knowledgeable of the music’s deep, complex roots while simultaneously being spontaneous and in the moment while performing it. For an artist with such a multifaceted discography as Scofield’s, getting to the root of jazz means channeling the blues, as demonstrated on the disc’s closing, titled-track.

Listen Now!


"Past Present"


  1. 1. Slinky
  2. 2. Chap Dance
  3. 3. Hangover
  4. 4. Museum
  5. 5. Season Creep
  6. 6. Get Proud
  7. 7. Enjoy The Future!
  8. 8. Mr. Puffy
  9. 9. Past Present

More By This Artist