New Releases For September 1, 2017

John Beasley
MONK'estra, Vol. 2

John Beasley - MONK'estra, Vol. 2

Looking to the past for inspiration brings the music into the future for MONK’estra, Vol. 2, which masterfully applies a rich orchestral palette across an array of modern infectious rhythms, while discovering new dimensions of the classic compositions that emerge directly from their deepest jazz roots. Beyond just adapting the indelible themes of Thelonious Sphere Monk for a 16-member big band plus incomparable guest artists, these 10 songs explode into new musical experiences due to the collective unit embracing a new strain of jazz, which features diverse sounds and a broad base of influences from the entire black music canon.

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Brake’s Sake (Featuring Dontae Winslow)
  2. 2. Played Twice
  3. 3. Crepuscule (With Nellie)
  4. 4. Evidence
  5. 5. Ugly Beauty/Pannonica
  6. 6. I Mean You
  7. 7. Light Blue
  8. 8. Dear Ruby
  9. 9. Criss Cross
  10. 10. Work

More By This Artist