Blues Releases

Janiva Magness
Love Is An Army

Janiva Magness - Love Is An Army

After Janiva Magness added a 2016 Grammy nomination to her 27 Blues Music Award nominations-with seven wins, Janiva might have taken at least a short rest on her laurels. Instead, one of the preeminent voices in contemporary American roots music has raised the bar for herself. Magness' fourteenth album, Love Is An Army, is a brilliantly crafted bridge between the past and present, blending the echoes of classic soul and country music with timeless themes of love and the very contemporary sound of protest. Guests include Charlie Musselwhite, Cedric Burnside, Delbert McClinton, Courtney Hartman and Rusty Young of Poco.

TAGS: Americana | Blues

Listen Now!


"Down Below (Featuring Cortney Hartman)"


  1. 1. Back To Blue
  2. 2. Hammer (Featuring Charlie Musselwhite)
  3. 3. On And On (Featuring Rusty Young)
  4. 4. Tell Me
  5. 5. Love Is An Army (Featuring Bryan Stephens)
  6. 6. Down Below (Featuring Cortney Hartman)
  7. 7. What’s That Say About You
  8. 8. What I Could Do (Featuring Delbert McClinton)
  9. 9. Home (Featuring Cedric Burnside)
  10. 10. Love To A Gunfight
  11. 11. When It Rains
  12. 12. Some Kind Of Love

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Jan 23
    New Orleans, LA, US Janiva Magness at International Folk Alliance Conference
  • Jan 27
    New Orleans, LA, US Janiva Magness at Union Passenger Terminal
  • Feb 24
    Oakland, CA, US Janiva Magness at Yoshi's - Oakland
  • Feb 26
    Solana Beach, CA, US Tinsley Ellis and Janiva Magness at Belly Up Tavern
  • Feb 27
    Sacramento, CA, US Janiva Magness at B Street Theatre at Sofia Tsakopoulos Center
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist