New Releases For September 13, 2011

Darron McKinney
Feel Like Makin' Love

Darron McKinney - Feel Like Makin' Love

Smooth jazz saxophonist and recording artist, Darron 'The Sheriff' McKinney, is proud to present his much awaited new CD, Feel Like Makin' Love on Bluepie Records.

The 13-track CD, which is McKinney's third, is a strong collection of songs that shows the broad talents of this giant artist. In addition to the title cut, recorded and made famous by Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway, the CD contains 'Between the Sheets' a big seller for the Isley Brothers. As always his trademark, McKinney shows his spiritual side by recording such inspirational songs as 'Never Alone.'

Often called 'The Sheriff,' McKinney, who served 14 years as a Wayne County Deputy Sheriff in Detroit and currently works as a police officer for the Detroit Public School District Police first made international news when he recorded a riveting song entitled, 'A Call to Courage.' McKinney (soprano saxophone) and Nichelle Colvin (vocals) performed the composition at the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Candlelight Vigil held in Washington, DC in May, 2001. Prophetically, the song was performed four months prior to the tragedy of September 11, 2001, giving the composition a new meaning of patriotism. At the candlelight vigil, the two artists mesmerized 18,000 law enforcement officers and the families and friends of America's fallen law officers. Former U.S. Attorney General John Ashcroft and Sen. Trent Lott were among the attending dignitaries who were visibly moved by McKinney's incredible musical salute, which can be viewed on Youtube by clicking here.

McKinney is the recipient of the Discovery Award, presented by BET Jazz, and has been compared to the late Grover Washington, Jr. by

Listen Now!


"Step With Me"


  1. 1. Feel Like Makin Love
  2. 2. Between The Sheets
  3. 3. Step With Me
  4. 4. Cruzin
  5. 5. 75 South
  6. 6. Soulmate
  7. 7. Shift Change
  8. 8. Good Lovin
  9. 9. Never Alone Instrumental
  10. 10. Soft Spoken
  11. 11. So Fresh So Clean
  12. 12. Never Alone
  13. 13. Corey's Song