Rock Releases

The Golliwogs
Fight Fire: The Complete Recordings 1964-1967

The Golliwogs - Fight Fire: The Complete Recordings 1964-1967

More than any other band, the Golliwogs suggest a group's handle really can make a difference, since they labored in obscurity for three years before achieving massive success months after the quartet changed their name to Creedence Clearwater Revival. The Golliwogs' story began when singer and guitarist John Fogerty met drummer Doug Clifford while they were attending high school in El Cerrito, California; they discovered they shared a passion for Little Richard and Fats Domino, and decided to form a band to play New Orleans-style rock & roll. After several months, Fogerty and Clifford recruited Stu Cook, another El Cerrito student, to handle piano and bass guitar with their combo.

Listen Now!


"Fight Fire"


  1. 1. Brown-Eyed Girl
  2. 2. Fight Fire
  3. 3. Don't Tell Me No Lies
  4. 4. Walking On The Water
  5. 5. You Can't Be True (Version One)
  6. 6. Try Try Try
  7. 7. You Came Walking
  8. 8. Fragile Child
  9. 9. You Better Be Careful
  10. 10. Little Tina
  11. 11. I Only Met You Just An Hour Ago
  12. 12. You Better Get It Before It Gets You
  13. 13. Call It Pretending
  14. 14. Gonna Hang Around
  15. 15. Where You Been
  16. 16. You Got Nothin' On Me
  17. 17. She Was Mine
  18. 18. Tell Me
  19. 19. Porterville
  20. 20. Instrumental #1
  21. 21. You Can't Be True (Version Two)
  22. 22. Little Girl (Does Your Momma Know)
  23. 23. Action USA Promotional Spot