Funk Releases

Dr. John
The Atco/Atlantic Singles 1968-1974

Dr. John - The Atco/Atlantic Singles 1968-1974

Dr. John has proven to be one of music’s foremost generalists, a primary-care cat whose practice extends back some 60 years. His expertise encompasses rock ’n’ roll, swamp pop, New Orleans, R&B, funk, jazz, and the Great American Songbook - and he’s made worthy contributions to recordings by the Stones, B.B. King, Van Morrison, Frank Zappa, Buddy Guy & Junior Wells, Buffalo Springfield, Gregg Allman, and others. These Atco and Atlantic sides were clearly the right-place right-time recordings. They put Dr. John on the map and into the ears and minds of music enthusiasts the world over.

TAGS: Americana | Blues | Funk | Jazz | R&B

Listen Now!


"Right Place Wrong Time"


  1. 1. The Patriotic Flag Waver (Mono Long Version)
  2. 2. Mama Roux
  3. 3. Jump Sturdy
  4. 4. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (Part I)
  5. 5. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (Part II)
  6. 6. Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
  7. 7. Loop Garoo
  8. 8. Wash Mama Wash
  9. 9. Iko Iko
  10. 10. Huey Smith Medley: “High Blood Pressure” “Don’t You Just Know It” "Well I’ll Be John Brown”
  11. 11. Wang Dang Doodle
  12. 12. Big Chief
  13. 13. A Man Of Many Words (Buddy Guy With Dr. John & Eric Clapton)
  14. 14. Right Place Wrong Time
  15. 15. I Been Hoodood
  16. 16. Such A Night
  17. 17. Cold Cold Cold
  18. 18. Life
  19. 19. Let’s Make A Better World
  20. 20. Me – You = Loneliness
  21. 21. (Everybody Wanna Get Rich) Rite Away
  22. 22. Mos’ Scocious

More By This Artist