Jazz Releases

CODE Quartet

CODE Quartet - Genealogy

CODE Quartet is a powerhouse collective of four of Canada’s leading jazz composers and improvisers, featuring Jim Doxas on drums, alto and soprano saxophonist Christine Jensen, Adrian Vedady on bass, and trumpeter Lex French. The Quartet’s approach integrates original compositions and members’ improvisational reactions to the written material. The quartet draws on composers from Fletcher Henderson to Paul Bley, Charlie Haden, Ornette Coleman, and beyond. The compositions are inspired by visual art, poetry, the environment, politics, and social movements. For instance, the swirling dark feeling in Jensen’s “Day Moon” suggests the rising sea levels caused by global warming, while French’s “Genealogy” is inspired by New Zealand artist Gordon Walters.

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Tipsy
  2. 2. Watching It All Slip Away
  3. 3. Wind Up
  4. 4. O Sacred Head, Now Wounded
  5. 5. Genealogy
  6. 6. Requiem
  7. 7. Day Moon
  8. 8. Beach Community

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Sep 19
    Montreal, QC, Canada André Rieu, Alain Caron, Festival De Jazz De Montreal, Coral Egan, and 3 more… at Scène Rio Tinto Alcan
  • Jul 01
    Montreal, QC, Canada CODE Quartet and Festival De Jazz De Montreal at L'Astral
Powered by Songkick