Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  Sonic Youth

   1991 Year Punk Broke (DVD)

Share This
1991 Year Punk Broke (DVD)

2011 marks the 20th Anniversary of 1991: The Year Punk Broke, a pivotal film centered around the lives and experiences of music pioneers Sonic Youth during their 1991 European festival tour. All footage has been fully restored with audio re-synced and remastered in uncompressed PCM stereo under the supervision of Sonic Youth. The doc not only captures Sonic Youth's raw and powerful live performances of songs such as 'Dirty Boots,' 'Teenage Riot,' 'Kool Thing' and 'Schizophrenia,' it offers a unique and rare behind-the-scenes look at daily life on the road.

1991: The Year Punk Broke is also packed with 65 minutes of bonus material, including a previously unreleased featurette featuring over 40 minutes of additional live footage of Sonic Youth performing 'White Kross,' 'Eric's Trip,' 'Chapel Hill' and 'Inhuman,' plus a rare Nirvana performance of 'In Bloom.'

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: September 13, 2011   on UMe / DGC



1. Schizophrenia - Sonic Youth
2. Negative Creep - Nirvana
3. Brother James - Sonic Youth
4. School - Nirvana
5. Teenage Riot - Sonic Youth
6. Freak Scene - Dinosaur Jr.
7. Dustcake Boy - Babes In Toyland
8. Dirty Boots - Sonic Youth
9. Endless, Nameless - Nirvana
10. I Love Her All The Time - Sonic Youth
11. Pre - Gumball
12. The Wagon - Dinosaur Jr.
13. Mote - Sonic Youth
14. Smells Like Teen Spirit - Nirvana
15. Commando - The Ramones
16. Kool Thing - Sonic Youth
17. Polly - Nirvana
18. Expressway To Yr Skull - Sonic Youth
(This Is Known As) The Blues Scale (40 Minute Bonus Film)
1. Inhuman - Sonic Youth
2. White Cross - Sonic Youth
3. Orange Rolls, Angels Spit - Sonic Youth
4. In Bloom - Nirvana
5. Eric's Trip - Sonic Youth
6. Chapel Hill - Sonic Youth
1. Mote - Sonic Youth
2. Flower - Sonic Youth
3. Trailer
4. Teenage Riot (Alternate Edit)