Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  Fred Hersch Trio

   Alive At The Vanguard

Share This
Alive At The Vanguard

A new piano trio recording by five-time Grammy nominee Fred Hersch offers the rare opportunity to recalibrate expectations about the most fundamental of all jazz settings. Captured in the heat of creative ferment at the Village Vanguard, the sanctified venue that has long served as the pianist's second home, Hersch's trio with bassist John Hébert and drummer Eric McPherson displays all the rhythmic daring, preternatural interplay, harmonic sophistication and passionate lyricism that makes it one of the era's definitive ensembles. The double album features a diverse array of seven scintillating new Hersch originals, four American Songbook gems, and seven classic jazz tunes.

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: September 11, 2012   on Palmetto


Listen Now!


1. Havana
2. Tristesse
3. Segment
4. Lonely Woman
5. Dream Of Monk
6. Rising, Falling
7. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
8. Doxy
1. Opener (Hersch)
2. I Fall In Love Too Easily
3. Jackalope
4. The Wind
5. Sartorial (Hersch)
6. From This Moment On
7. The Song Is You / Played Twice


Boston, MA, US
Fred Hersch Trio at Scullers Jazz Club
Oslo, Norway
Fred Hersch Trio and Fred Hersch at Victoria - Nasjonal Jazzscene
Paris, France
Brad Mehldau Trio with Fred Hersch Trio at Philharmonie De Paris
Powered by Songkick