Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  The Flatlanders

   The Odessa Tapes (CD/DVD)

Share This
The Odessa Tapes (CD/DVD)

In January 1972 the Flatlanders travelled to Tommy Allsup's Odessa, TX studio at the urging of a local radio DJ. The 14 songs recorded on reel-to-reel tape arguably marked the birth of alternative country music. Celebrating their 40th anniversary, the founding fathers of Americana release a collection of these recordings as The Odessa Tapes, which capture the blend of country, folk, roots and cosmic energy the Flatlanders pioneered. Also included is a DVD featuring an interview about the early days of their career, and a booklet that includes unreleased archival photos. Limited edition 180-gram vinyl will also be available.

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: August 28, 2012   on New West


Listen Now!


1. I Know You
2. Number Sixteen
3. Shadow Of The Moon
4. Dallas
5. Down In My Hometown
6. Stars In My Life
7. I Think Too Much Of You
8. Bhagavan Decreed
9. Tonight I Think I'm Gonna Go Downtown
10. You've Never Seen Me Cry
11. One Road More
12. Story Of You
13. Rose From The Mountain
14. The Heart You Left Behind