Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  Karen Elson

   The Ghost Who Walks

Share This
The Ghost Who Walks

On her debut disc, The Ghost Who Walks, Karen Elson spins intriguingly unsettling tales of lost love, dashed hope, romantic betrayal and various crimes of passion witnessed only by the full moon. In a coolly inviting voice, strumming an acoustic guitar, she summons up a dark yet seductive atmosphere, an after-midnight world that's irresistibly alluring.

The arrangements for her small band -- featuring the virtuosic Jackson Smith on guitar, Elson's longtime collaborator Rachelle Garniez on accordion and vocals, and husband-producer Jack White on drums -- evoke the lonesome side of country ('Cruel Summer') or the tormented side of the blues ('The Truth Is In the Dirt'), with eerie organ touches, keening electric guitars, and, on 'In Trouble With the Lord,' some mean rock swagger.

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: May 25, 2010   on XL Recordings


Listen Now!


1. The Ghost Who Walks
2. The Truth Is In The Dirt
3. Pretty Babies
4. Lunasa
5. 100 Years From Now
6. Stolen Roses
7. Cruel Summer
8. Garden
9. The Birds They Circle
10. A Thief At My Door
11. The Last Laugh
12. Mouths To Feed