Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  Alexi Murdoch

   Towards The Sun

Share This
Towards The Sun

Critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Alexi Murdoch's second record Towards the Sun is the follow-up to his 2006 release Time Without Consequence. Murdoch's debut cemented him as a Top Ten Artist to Watch in Rolling Stone. NPR Music called it a timeless folk-pop record that's likely to endure. It ultimately sold over 100,000 copies - and continues to sell briskly a half decade after initial release.

Though his second record has been long in coming, Murdoch has remained in the public eye. His debut was one of the most licensed albums of the decade, receiving placements in dozens of films and television shows. Later, after appearances on KCRW's Morning Becomes Eclectic and WXPN's World Café, he was tabbed by director Sam Mendes to contribute nine songs to the soundtrack for the acclaimed 2009 film Away We Go, alongside tracks by the Velvet Underground, Bob Dylan, George Harrison & the Stranglers.

Murdoch recorded the majority of Towards The Sun in Vancouver in a single night while on tour in North America in 2009. Revisiting the tracks months later in New York City and Brooklyn, he fleshed them out with the help of a handful of local musicians.

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: March 8, 2011   on Zero Summer


Listen Now!


1. Towards The Sun
2. At Your Door
3. Some Day Soon
4. Slow Revolution
5. Through The Dark
6. The Light (Her Hands Were Leaves)
7. Crinan Wood