Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  The Magnetic Fields

   Love At The Bottom Of The Sea

Share This
Love At The Bottom Of The Sea

The Magnetic Fields' tenth full-length album is their first release of new material with Merge since 1999's highly acclaimed 69 Love Songs. The band celebrates their new album with a North American tour that passes through the SXSW Music Showcase in Austin, Texas.

After putting out three synthesizer-free albums, the Magnetic Fields are returning to the signature mix of synth and acoustic sounds they established in the '90s with Merge releases such as The Charm of the Highway Strip and Get Lost. Stephin Merritt has come back to synths with a fresh approach: 'Most of the synthesizers on the record didn't exist when we were last using synthesizers,' he notes. The songs - none over three minutes long - were recorded in Los Angeles, San Francisco and New York with Merritt's usual cast of collaborators: Claudia Gonson, Sam Davol, John Woo, Shirley Simms, Johny Blood and Daniel Handler.

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: March 6, 2012   on Merge


Listen Now!


1. God Wants Us To Wait
2. Andrew In Drag
3. Your Girlfriend's Face
4. Born For Love
5. I'd Go Anywhere With Hugh
6. Infatuation (With Your Gyration)
7. The Only Boy In Town
8. The Machine In Your Head
9. Goin' Back To The Country
10. I've Run Away To Join The Fairies
11. The Horrible Party
12. My Husband's Pied-A-Terre
13. I Don't Like Your Tone
14. Quick!
15. All She Cares About Is Mariachi

More By This Artist