Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  Eyvind Kang

   The Narrow Garden

Share This
The Narrow Garden

The Narrow Garden is the latest full length from composer Eyvind Kang. Across his illustrious musical career in addition to arranging and performing with other musicians, he has released many recordings of original music notably the acclaimed choral piece Athlantis (Ipecac) and The Yelm Sessions (Tzadik). The Narrow Garden is no exception, offering one of his most original and perhaps one of his most playful recordings to date.

The music on The Narrow Garden sounds like it was composed for a film soundtrack in the way that Eyvind Kang creates evocative visual spaces with sound. True to form the album is composed of full-bodied pieces of music that evolve from minimal song structure to more grandiose musical statements throughout, 'Forest Saman'i' is a great example of this. 'Pure Nothing', 'Mineralia' and 'Nobis Natalis' nod to the choral tones on Athlantis and show definite eastern influences, whilst 'Usnea' and 'The Narrow Garden' experiment with some truly eerie samples.

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: February 14, 2012   on Ipecac


Listen Now!


1. Forest Sama'I
2. Pure Nothing
3. Usnea
4. Mineralia
5. The Narrow Garden
6. Nobis Natalis
7. Invisus Natalis