Get New Releases Weekly

New Releases Now on Facebook New Releases Now on Twitter New Releases Now RSS Feed Share New Releases Now

  Joe Louis Walker


Share This

The blistering Alligator debut from a certified blues legend, Hellfire, breathes fiery new life into guitar-stoked houserockin' blues. This is simply one of the best, brightest blues releases in ages.

Walker, who wrote or co-wrote seven of the CD's eleven tracks, says it's the hardest rocking and most deeply soulful album of his career. From the psychedelic overtones of the title track (a harrowing and personal tale of the struggle of good versus evil) to the slow, simmering and pleading 'What's It Worth' to the Stones-y rocker 'Ride All Night', Hellfire is the work of a man possessed. Walker's original showstopper 'Soldier For Jesus' (featuring vocal harmonies from the Jordanaires, who also appear on 'Don't Cry') fits seamlessly alongside the other selections, making perfect thematic sense in the tradition of Al Green, Marvin Gaye or Prince, who all successfully combined carnal desires and gospel devotion.

'Clenched-fist blues passion, searing guitar and powerful, soulful vocals' - Washington Post

ARTIST SITE   |   RELEASED: January 31, 2012   on Alligator

TAGS: Blues


Listen Now!


1. Hellfire
2. I Won't Do That
3. Ride All Night
4. I'm On To You
5. What's It Worth
6. Soldier For Jesus
7. I Know Why
8. Too Drunk To Drive Drunk
9. Black Girls
10. Don't Cry
11. Movin' On

More By This Artist

Joe Louis Walker

Hornet's Nest