Bluegrass Releases

The HillBenders
Tommy: A Bluegrass Opry

The HillBenders - Tommy: A Bluegrass Opry

“You haven’t heard ‘Acid Queen’ until you’ve seen it sung by a bearded man with a mandolin...” - Rolling Stone

Forty-five years after its initial release, the Who’s rock opera Tommy has been transformed by the HillBenders into a full-length bluegrass tribute with all of the original record’s energy, instrumental showmanship, and rock star vocals intact. Originally recorded with a full rock band, the dynamic bluegrass quintet recreated the legendary album with a banjo, Dobro, mandolin, bass, and guitar. The “Bluegrass Opry,” as it’s been dubbed, brings a new perspective to Tommy while paying homage to its creators.

Listen Now!


"Pinball Wizard"


  1. 1. Overture
  2. 2. Captain Walker
  3. 3. 1921
  4. 4. Amazing Journey
  5. 5. Sparks
  6. 6. Eyesight To The Blind The Hawker
  7. 7. Christmas
  8. 8. Cousin Kevin
  9. 9. The Acid Queen
  10. 10. Do You Think It’s Alright?
  11. 11. Fiddle About
  12. 12. Pinball Wizard
  13. 13. There’s A Doctor
  14. 14. Go To The Mirror
  15. 15. Tommy, Can You Hear Me?
  16. 16. Smash The Mirror
  17. 17. Sensation
  18. 18. Miracle Cure
  19. 19. Sally Simpson
  20. 20. I’m Free
  21. 21. Welcome
  22. 22. Tommy’s Holiday Camp
  23. 23. We’re Not Gonna Take It/See Me, Feel Me

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Jul 08
    Denver, CO, US The HillBenders with Masontown at Levitt Pavilion
  • Jul 27
    Annapolis, MD, US The HillBenders at Rams Head On Stage
  • Aug 03
    South Fork, CO, US Rhythms on the Rio Festival 2018
  • Sep 19
    Chicago, IL, US The HillBenders at Reggie's Rock Club
  • Mar 15
    Cheyenne, WY, US Keller Williams with The HillBenders at Cheyenne Civic Center
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist