New Releases For February 3, 2015

Kenny Wheeler
Songs For Quintet

Kenny Wheeler - Songs For Quintet

Kenny Wheeler (1930-2014) was an unassuming giant of modern jazz, a daring improviser, and a writer of many beautiful and slyly unorthodox tunes. His recorded legacy includes albums now regarded as contemporary jazz classics such as Gnu High, Deer Wan, and Music For Large And Small Ensembles. In December 2013 he recorded what was to be his last album. Songs For Quintet, an inspirational session featuring Wheeler compositions of recent vintage (plus a fresh approach to “Nonetheless,” first heard on Angel Song), was recorded in London’s Abbey Road Studio.

TAGS: Jazz

Listen Now!




  1. 1. Seventy-Six
  2. 2. Jigsaw
  3. 3. The Long Waiting
  4. 4. Canter No. 1
  5. 5. Sly Eyes
  6. 6. 1076
  7. 7. Old Time
  8. 8. Pretty Liddle Waltz
  9. 9. Nonetheless

More By This Artist