New Releases For August 19, 2016

John Beasley
Presents MONK'estra, Volume 1

John Beasley - Presents MONK'estra, Volume 1

Thelonious Monk is a Mount Rushmore figure in the creation of modern jazz. As the centennial of his birth rapidly approaches, John Beasley - pianist, conductor and arranger - has grappled with the complex composer’s legacy with his versatile big band riffing on the wit and unmistakable architecture of the Monk songbook with irrepressible energy and swinging abandon on MONK’estra, Volume 1.

Listen Now!


"‘Round Midnight"


  1. 1. Epistrophy
  2. 2. Skippy
  3. 3. Oska T
  4. 4. Monk’s Processional (Medley)
  5. 5. ‘Round Midnight
  6. 6. Ask Me Now
  7. 7. Gallop’s Gallop
  8. 8. Little Rootie Tootie
  9. 9. Coming On The Hudson

Upcoming Tour Dates

  • Jul 04
    Matosinhos, Portugal Festival de Jazz de Matosinhos 2020
  • Apr 08
    Amsterdam, Netherlands Maria Mendes, Metropole Orkest, and John Beasley at Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Powered by Songkick

More By This Artist